JCS NAC Kazatomprom Elects New Board of Directors

Astana, 16 August 2018. JSC National atomic company Kazatomprom (“Company”) announces the changes in the composition of the Board of Directors. The Management Board of JSC “Samruk-Kazyna” approved Company’s new Board of Directors in the following composition:

  • Jon Dudas - Chairman of the Board of Directors, Independent Non-Executive Director;
  • Galymzhan Pirmatov - Chief Executive Officer (Chairman of the Management Board);
  • Neil Longfellow - Independent Non-Executive Director;
  • Russel Banham - Independent Non-Executive Director;
  • Alik Aidarbayev- representative of the Sole Shareholder;
  • Beybit Karymsakov - representative of the Sole Shareholder;
  • Kanat Kudaibergen - representative of the Sole Shareholder.

Jon Dudas has been an independent member of the Board of Directors of the Company since 2015, was elected as a Chairman of the Board of Directors of JSC NAC Kazatomprom. Earlier the First Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan Askar Mamin, governed this position.


Jon Dudas has over 30 years of experience in the metals and minerals industry. In different years he held positions of CEO of the aluminum division of BHP Billiton, Group Project Director on Corporate Planning and Group CIO in BHP Billiton, as Marketing Director (Energy), and Head of Group Freight and Chief Commercial Officer (Thermal coal). During this period, BHP Billiton entered the global uranium market and he was responsible for developing the uranium business strategy and accountable for uranium marketing.

Galymzhan Pirmatov has rich experience in the commercial, state and quasi-public sectors. He held key management positions in the Ministry of Economy and Budget Planning of the Republic of Kazakhstan, JSC NAC Kazatomprom, Cameco Kazakhstan, and the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Neil Longfellow is a professional with more than 26 years of experience in the international nuclear industry. For many years, he worked at the British Nuclear Fuels Limited and was in charge of contracts for the reprocessing of spent nuclear fuel. Neil held management positions in Westinghouse Electric and Costain PLC, where he oversaw major projects in the nuclear, oil and gas sectors. Since 2015, he provides independent consultancy services in the international nuclear sector.

Russel Banham, experienced non-executive director. Has strong background in financial management and reporting, risk management and corporate governance. Also, he is an independent non-executive director of MGM China Holdings Limited and non-executive director of Wiggins Island Coal Export Terminal Pty Ltd.

Alik Aidarbayev – throughout his career held various management positions at Yuzhkazneftegaz, Kumkol-Lukoil (formerly known as Turgai Petroleum CJSC), Mangistaumunaygas JSC, NC KazMunaiGas JSC. He was also a General Director at KazMunayGas Exploration Production JSC from December 2011 to 2013, Governor of Mangistau region from 2013 to 2017, the First Vice-Minister for Investments and Development of the Republic of Kazakhstan from March 2017 to January 2018. Since 15 January 2018, Mr Aidarbayev serves as a Deputy Chairman of the Board Management of Samruk-Kazyna JSC.

Beybit Karymsakov is a specialist with extensive experience in finance. In different years, he held executive positions in tax authorities, worked as the managing director of JSC "National Company «Astana EXPO-2017» He is currently   a managing directorof economics and finance of Samruk-Kazyna JSC

Kanat Kudaibergen has extensive experience in finance. He held executive positions in mining and service enterprises of the uranium industry. He worked as a managing director of the "uranium mining" division of JSC "NAC "Kazatomprom". He is currentlya Chairman of the Management Board of the national mining company "Tau-Ken Samruk".